Skip to content

Sewing a Poem

December 11, 2012

It was as if it was waiting just for me – a crochet and knitting book from 1973 at a library book sale  Crochet and Fine Knitting by E.E Visser. It literally has thousands of patterns and detailed instructions for every stitch for lace-like knitting and crochet – doilies, bedjackets, toys, collars, cuffs, cheval sets, traycloths, afghans, laces and edgings, gifts and bazaar boutique and lots more. It is so big that the librarian joked that at least the wind won’t blow me over. (The Cape Doctor is blowing up a storm here at present)

sewing a poem

Crochet and Fine Knitting by E.E Visser

sewing a poem

It has thousands of patterns

Besides the great patterns it also has quotes and poems relating to sewing, knitting and crochet. This one poem in particular expresses for me what women through the ages have felt is the joy of hand crafts.

Sunlight and Shadow - by Blacklock

Sunlight and Shadow – by Blacklock

Image from Wikimedia Commons

Sewing

I’ve embroided a frock, and I’ve sewn the long seams,

While I stitched up a heartache And mended my dreams.

I’ve patched a torn garment, And darned a big rent

While I’ve worked in new  hopes And a sweeter content.

Why stitching brings gladness, Or ease for life’s pain,

And healing from sadness, I cannot explain,

But for little hopes baffled, And foolish tears shed,

I had sought and found comfort with needle and thread.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2012 9:49 am

    The holy grail of knitting! How exciting!

    • December 11, 2012 11:38 am

      Yes, it felt like that for me! I am so excited about all the possibilities. The irony is that price I paid for it will not even buy you one sweet. I will be posting some of the patterns.

Leave a comment